Top Ten Things on My Bookish Bucket List

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.

This weeks topic really forced me to sit back and think about what kind of book-related things I’d like to do someday. Normally I just worry about which books I’m going to read next and don’t put much thought into anything else regarding those books. But, this week I spent a little time pondering the idea of other book things to do.

Visit Some Presidential Libraries
Before watching The West Wing a year or two ago I had no idea there was a library built for each one of the presidents. Part of me thinks I should probably be embarrassed by that, but then again, it’s not like they are advertised in a major fashion. I think maybe some day when I’m older I might take my wife on a cross-state tour of a few of them.

Meet Some More Authors
I took a class from Brandon Sanderson, so I’ve met him. I’d also like to meet some of my other favorite authors like Terry Brooks, Timothy Zahn, and John Scalzi. I’d also be down for meeting pretty much any other author whose books I’ve enjoyed.

My Own Autographed Collection
At some point in the future I’d like to own a home where I can have an office lined with some really nice, high-quality bookshelves. I read most of my books in electronic format these days, but I think it would be sort of cool to have full collections of some of my favorite book series in hardback complete with autographs on display.

Write My Own Novella or Novel
This has been a life long goal of mine and I don’t really have much in the way of excuses for not having done it yet other than being a bit lazy. I think I’d also like to write a serialized story of some sort for the blog.

Build 20four12 into Something Bigger
I have a lot of plans I’d like to see come to fruition with this blog. Some of them are pretty ambitious and some of them are pretty basic, but they are all plans nonetheless. I feel like 20four12 is something I could really turn into something special if I put the time and effort into it, but knowing exactly where to start has always been difficult.

Read More Classics
There are so many classic books like Tale of Two Cities, 20,000 Leagues Under the Sea, Frankenstein, 1984, Grapes of Wrath, etc that I have never read. Why? I don’t know, I just haven’t. I need to get busy reading some of those books so I can better understand how they have influence the writing of today.

Read the Star Wars Expanded Universe from Start to Finish
With this one I’m not sure if I want to start with the pre-Clone Wars novels and make my way up to the movies and then continue past them, or if I want to start again where I started as a young teenager and re-read the many Star Wars books that made me into the fan of science fiction I am today. I’m probably leaning toward the later.

Become Part of a Reading Group for Science Fiction and Fantasy
I’ve never been part of a formal book club, but I wouldn’t mind giving it a try someday. The only criteria I have is that the club would need to be focused on the science fiction and fantasy genres because otherwise I won’t have enough reading experience in the realm to participate in any meaningful discussions.

Read 100 Books in a Year
I’m three months into trying to get this item done in 2014 and I’m doing pretty well. Will I make it happen? I’m leaning towards saying yes, I will read 100 books this year, but the last few months of the year are going to be the deciding factor. I’m a little worried about reading fatigue by the time October and November come around.

Attend a Large Book Event of Some Kind
Which book event? I don’t know, but I’d like it to be something along the lines of a convention or expo of sorts. I’ve been to a handful of book signings and release parties in my day, so I would like to try something on a grander scale for once.

3 thoughts on “Top Ten Things on My Bookish Bucket List

  1. “Read the Star Wars Expanded Universe from Start to Finish” How did I miss putting this on mine? YES! I have been determined to do that for years. Of course, new books keep coming so I have a long way to go.
    My TTT

Leave a Reply

