Looking Back at January 2014

The first month of the year has been a decent success for me as far as blogging and reading are concerned. I needed to get eight books read to be on pace for the year and while I didn’t get a full eight finished, I did get seven, so I’m only one behind. I think that’s something I can easily focus on getting caught up on in February.

The blogging is going well too, yesterday made me a perfect 31 for 31 in January. I’d be lying if I didn’t say it was tough on a couple of days though. I still haven’t managed to get ahead of schedule with the blog posts I’ve written, which means I’m still writing a lot of posts late in the evening to make sure I get them in before midnight each day. That isn’t a model I can sustain for too long though, so I’m going to need to find a way to get ahead soon or I’ll be in trouble with the “blogging every day” goal.

Here are the books I read in January 2014:

The first four books on the list are the entire Uglies series, which I thought was a very solid series on the whole. I’m surprised I hadn’t read them before this month, but I’m glad that I finally have. It’s a YA series that a lot of people should read if they want to see how that sort of fiction should be written more often.

Dark Triumph as the second book in a trilogy and I loved it just as much as I did the first book, Grave Mercy. The final piece of that trilogy arrives sometime later this year and I’m very excited to see how the story concludes.

Warbreaker was a re-read because I like to do that sort of thing from time to time, especially with Brandon Sanderson books. Promise of Blood was a book I’ve had on my Kindle for almost a year and because the second book, The Crimson Campaign, is being released in a few months I wanted to finally get it read so I wouldn’t be behind. It’s the first of a series that I think will be fascinating, but it’s going to take a little more for me to be entirely invested. The magic systems in Promise of Blood are complex and it takes a little bit of effort to really comprehend everything going on with them. I’m hoping that the second book will clear things up a little bit.

For February, I’m hoping to make some more progress on catching up with unfinished series, doing a review for one of the first advance copies I’ve ever been given, and re-read the first book of a series that has a second book coming out in March. I’ll try to get all of that done and sneak in one extra book to make up for January, but we’ll see how it goes in the end. I’ll see you at the end of the month with another update!

4 thoughts on “Looking Back at January 2014

  1. Pingback: Lessons Learned by Reading 100 Books « 20four12

Leave a Reply

