Up Next: “The Still” by David Feintuch

The StillEarlier today I finished reading my first non-fiction book of the year, Fast Food Nation: The Dark Side of the All-American Meal and while I enjoyed the amount of new information I got from reading that book I’m glad to be going back to one of the genre’s I love the most. Non-fiction is great and all, but it simply doesn’t have the same hold on me that fiction does most of the time.

I really liked David Feintuch’s writing style in the first book of his that I read, Midshipman’s Hope, and when The Still showed up with a discounted price on Amazon a couple of weeks ago I figured it was worth grabbing to see what he could do with the fantasy genre since he was pretty decent with science fiction. The premise seems interesting enough, although I’m a little worried about having to follow a main character who from early observation seems to be set up as a total punk. Sometimes I have a hard time connecting with characters like that unless they have a really good reason for being written that way. We’ll see how it turns out in the end, but I’m hoping it’s a positive result.

Also, it appears as though The Still is the first in a duology of books followed by a sequel entitled The King. I guess if I wind up liking this one I’ll probably need to read the second one to get a satisfying conclusion to the story. Comments about The Still on Amazon and elsewhere seem to be pretty fairly spread across the spectrum so I’m wondering if this book is going to be an acquired taste.

Rodrigo, Prince of Caledon, is petulant, selfish, and uncaring. When his mother, Queen Elena, dies, he fully expects to inherit the title of king. Instead, his uncle usurps the throne, and Rodrigo is forced out of the kingdom, along with his brother and best friend.

In order for Rodrigo to take back his birthright, he must win not only the allegiance of the Council of State, but also the Still, a mystical power that can be channeled by the rightful king of Caledon. To wield that power, Rodrigo must be pure, must be honest, and must be crowned king. Rodrigo’s success or failure will determine the fate of not only his homeland, but of his very soul.

Leave a Reply

