Reading List Update: Lee Child

I recently spent some time visiting my parents and while I was there I asked my Dad what books he had been reading lately. I distinctly remember as a kid that I wanted to read the same things my Dad was reading. The problem with that was he tended to read things written by authors like Clive Cussler and Tom Clancy. Things that had some very adult themes that a seven or eight year old shouldn’t be reading at that age.

Fast forward to today where I’m 29 and finally remembered to ask him for some recommendations. He gave me a list of nearly 20 authors and explained why he liked each one, but the ones he told me to read first were the Jack Reacher books by Lee Child because he really thinks Jack Reacher is a pretty interesting character.

So, I’m going to add the entire Jack Reacher series to my list:

LEE CHILD – JACK REACHER
Killing Floor
Die Trying
Trip Wire
Running Blind
Echo Burning
Without Fail
Persuader
The Enemy
One Shot
The Hard Way
Bad Luck and Trouble
Nothing to Lose
Gone Tomorrow
61 Hours
Worth Dying For
The Affair
A Wanted Man

Now, I normally don’t read much fiction written in a modern, present-day setting, so these might take some adjusting on my part to really get into them, but I think I can do it. I also don’t read much in the “crime drama” realm of things, so that will be new.

Here are a few cover descriptions to give you an idea of what the series is about:

Cover Description from Killing Floor:
After hopping off a Greyhound bus to pursue a whim (finding out what happened to a musician, “Blind Blake”), Reacher is arrested and charged with murder. After an attempt on his life while being held over the weekend in a state prison, Reacher is interested in just clearing his name and getting out. Later he finds out that the person he was framed for murdering was Joe Reacher, his brother. Unknowingly, Jack Reacher had stumbled into one of the biggest counterfeiting schemes in the United States. Subsequently, he takes on the vicious and ruthless butchers of a well established town gang operating a massive counterfeit notes racket. This novel is set in the fictional town of Margrave, Georgia.

Cover Description from Nothing to Lose:
Based in Colorado, travelling from the town of Hope to the town of Despair, it soon becomes clear that Reacher is an unwelcome visitor in a town with a lot of secrets to hide. Reacher cannot resist the opportunity to explore these secrets further, especially the peculiar town owner who has employed the majority of the population to work within his recycling factory.

One thought on “Reading List Update: Lee Child

Leave a Reply

