Book Review: “The Human Division #8: The Sound of Rebellion” by John Scalzi

The Colonial Defense Forces usually protect humanity from alien attack, but now the stability of the Colonial Union has been threatened, and Lieutenant Heather Lee and her squad are called to squash a rebellion on a colony world. It seems simple enough—but there’s a second act to the rebellion that finds Lee captive, alone, and armed with only her brains to survive.

the-sound-of-rebellionThe first thing I want to point out about The Sound of Rebellion is that for whatever reason I had it in my mind that this one was going to be one of the slightly longer episodes that pushed into the 40 or 50 page range. Apparently I was wrong about that because in truth it comes in at 29 pages instead. I was disappointed by that immensely because I have been waiting several weeks to have a new episode in The Human Division that isn’t quite so short. I wanted a good piece that was full of new plot developments to chew on for a few days. Oh well, I still liked this episode a lot despite my apparently overzealous wishes.

We are introduced to a new character in this episode, Heather Lee, a member of the CDF. She has all the usual CDF soldier enhancements to her body including the BrainPal which she puts to extremely effective use during her capture as a means by which she finds a way to escape.

I like new characters in this universe because they always seem to come back at some point in either major roles or in bit parts that mesh things together really well. Heather Lee seems like she has the potential to be a bit of a foil for Harry Wilson if they every managed to be assigned to the same place at the same time. As a matter of fact, I’m sort of secretly hoping that becomes the case at some point later in the series or in a future book Scalzi might have floating around in his head somewhere.

Also, the mysterious group of people who captured a ship in an earlier episode of the series seems to have made a reappearance in this episode. I’m not 100% sure they are the same group, but it seemed that way to me. I could be reading into things a little too deep though, they might have just been local rebels of some sort who really don’t like what the CDF has been up to lately. Thankfully these bad guys are much more interesting to me than a dog getting eaten by a garden plant and then uncovering the long-lost king of a planet like happened in the previous episode.

Next week we get an episode entitled The Human Division #9: The Observers, which I hope with all hopes has something to do with the Consu but it probably won’t. A more realistic guess is that it has something to do with the mysterious soldiers we have seen in a couple of spots so far. I can dream though, right?

Grade: B
Length: 29 pages

Amazon   |   Barnes & Noble   |   Goodreads   |   Audible

Leave a Reply

