Reading List Update: World of Warcraft

I just recently finished reading my very first World of Warcraft novel, Jaina Proudmoore: Tides of War by Christie Golden. As a fan of the computer game I thought it was great to have the chance to see characters I deal with inside the game come to life on the page and be given much more depth to their personalities and actions. I’ve always been wary of reading the various World of Warcraft novels because I worried they might confuse me about events in the game or that they might change my opinion of the in-game characters too much. Happily I can say that neither of those things happened with my first foray into the books and now I’m eager to try a few more.

So, today I’m updating my Personal Reading List with nine books, all of them set in the World of Warcraft universe. I went through a few resources that are available to help guide a fan along on which books to read and after much thought settled on the books listed below as the ones I actually want to read. There are lots more than just the ones listed here, including a lot of short stories, but these deal with the stuff I’m most interested in learning a little more about with the game lore.

RICHARD A. KNAAK – WAR OF THE ANCIENTS TRILOGY
The Well of Eternity
The Demon Soul
The Sundering

RICHARD A. KNAAK – OTHER
Stormrage
Wolfheart

CHRISTIE GOLDEN
Arthas: Rise of the Lich King
The Shattering: Prelude to Cataclysm
Thrall: Twilight of the Aspects
Jaina Proudmoore: Tides of War

I’ve read previous work by Christie Golden as part of the Star Wars Expanded Universe and thought her a pretty decent author. I can’t say that I’ve ever read anything by Richard A. Knaak, so he will be a new experience for me personally. I’ve seen a lot of rumblings around the World of Warcraft forums and blogs that Knaak is a love or hate type of author for a lot of people, so I wonder which side of that argument I’ll find myself landing on.

Leave a Reply

