Up Next: “The Red Pyramid” by Rick Riordan

I’ve been wanting to read some of Rick Riordan’s work for a long time, ever since I saw the Percy Jackson movie to be honest. And, given that I need to find some good books to read and review for my upcoming guest series over at The Mad Reviewer, I figured that The Kane Chronicles would be a pretty decent place to start.

Oddly enough, I will not be reading this book on my Kindle (although I desperately wish that I was) because I’ve noticed I’m spending far too much money on books for that thing. So, this one comes courtesy of the local library in order to save a little cash. I’ve heard good things about The Red Pyramid and I’m looking forward to reading an actual book again for the first time in a long while instead of reading it in ebook form.

Carter, 14, and Sadie, 12, have grown up apart. He has traveled all over the world with his Egyptologist father, Dr. Julius Kane, while Sadie has lived in London with her grandparents. Their mother passed away under mysterious circumstances, so when their father arrives in London and wants to take them both on a private tour of the British Museum, all is not necessarily what it seems. The evening ends with the apparent destruction of the Rosetta Stone, the disappearance of Dr. Kane, and the kidnapping of Carter and Sadie. More insidiously, it leads to the release of five Egyptian gods, including Set, who is their mortal enemy. Carter and Sadie discover the secrets of their family heritage and their ability to work magic as they realize that their task will be to save humanity from Set, who is building a destructive red pyramid inside Camelback Mountain in Phoenix.

Leave a Reply

