Week’s End: A Few Thoughts on The Dark Knight Rises

Last night I went to see The Dark Knight Rises and enjoyed it quite thoroughly. In my opinion the movie is on equal footing with the first two in the franchise in both production and acting quality. The casting of Anne Hathaway, Joseph Gordon-Leavitt, and Tom Hardy in their respective roles was magnificent and they all did an excellent job.

I’ve seen a lot of comparisons between Heath Ledger’s Joker and Tom Hardy’s Bane over the past few days and I think I fall in the group that consider’s Ledger’s performance as the better of the two. That isn’t to say that Hardy’s Bane was sub-par by any stretch. If you ask me his performance as Bane was a top 5 movie villain performance, which is nothing to be ashamed of let’s be honest. I will say I was far more terrified of Bane if that makes any difference.

The movie ended exactly how I wanted it to end. I won’t give away any details about it because it should be experienced without any prior information, but in the end if Christopher Nolan truly is never going to make another movie in this franchise I will be 100% satisfied with where he left things. But, if we all get lucky enough to have him revisit things again in a few years he sure left things exactly where they need to be for future installments. Go see the movie, you won’t regret it.

As for the rest of life this past week things were a little hectic towards the end of the week. I wound up staying very, very late at the office this past Thursday (late meaning 11:00pm) and then going in quite early (6:30am) on Friday to make changes to a client website that can in as very much a rush job. Under normal circumstances I would never have stayed that late and my direct manager was not pleased that I was put in a position by others to have to stay that late. Things turned out for the best though and the emergency changes all made it out live to the real world in plenty of time to keep the client happy.

Granted, I don’t want to do that again anytime soon. I enjoy my job, but there is only so much coding one can do in a day before their mind starts to give out and make things rather difficult.

I also upgraded the RAM in my trusty laptop all the way to 8GB from the 2GB it came with out of the box three years ago. Talk about a performance difference. I notice it the most when I am gaming, but overall applications load up a ton faster and the laptop seems to boot/restart lightning quick compared to before. I’m hoping this change will give me at least another year before I need to think about replacing the computer.

WHAT I’VE BEEN WATCHING

This was a slow week for me as far as television and movies are concerned. As I mentioned at the top of the post I did go see The Dark Knight Rises in the theater, but beyond that I finally got around to watching Safe House from the Redbox. I’ll admit that Safe House, while formulaic, was quite better than I expected it to be.

In the television arena I watched two or three more episodes of Frasier, but nothing beyond that. If I have the chance this coming week I would like to make more progress on Frasier as well as work in a few more episodes of House, M.D. and Covert Affairs.

RECENTLY ON 20FOUR12

Book Review: “Deadline” by Mira Grant
Book Review: “Blackout” by Mira Grant

“The Way of Kings” Chapter 1: Stormblessed

Some Quick Maintenance
Top 10 Tuesday: Books I’d Like to See Made into Movies/TV Shows
Further Thoughts on the Newsflesh Trilogy **MAJOR SPOILERS**
Amazon Needs to Announce the Next Kindle Generation Soon!

One thought on “Week’s End: A Few Thoughts on The Dark Knight Rises

  1. The Dark Knight rises was a great movie and I also agree that the ending couldn’t have been more perfect. I really hope that Christopher Nolan does continue his Batman series, but who knows.

Leave a Reply

