I’ve Given Up on “The January Dancer”

I can honestly say that I have only ceased reading a book before I finished it once or twice in my life. I have even finished books that I absolutely couldn’t stand as a matter of principle, but at least I could understand what was happening in those books.

With The January Dancer I truly have no clue what is going on with the story.

It was pretty easy to pick up that a captain and his crew found a strange artifact at the beginning of the book, and I can gather that the artifact is clearly more important than any of that crew originally thought, but that is it. There are so many characters that have no connection to each other. Some of them even go by two or three different names!

Perhaps it is because I needed to read a different book in the universe The January Dancer is set in first, or maybe I just can’t get a handle on Michael Flynn’s writing style with this book, but regardless, I just can’t finish it. I made it to the 50% mark and I feel like I know/understand as much now as I did when I finished the first page. For the life of me I cannot figure out what the plot is supposed to be with this book. None of it makes sense!

It’s been a frustrating read for me, but that is okay, not everyone likes everything they read. If there are fans of the book out there reading this, don’t be offended. I’m glad you enjoyed The January Dancer, but I just cannot make it work.

2 thoughts on “I’ve Given Up on “The January Dancer”

  1. i remember slogging through this book back when it came out. Everyone was going crazy for Michael Flynn, and all I got out of The January Dancer was that I didn’t like his writing style, at all. I finished it because i promised an e-zine a review of it. otherwise I wouldn’t have even made it as far as you did!

Leave a Reply

