Week’s End: I’m Here All By Myself This Week

Yesterday, early in the morning, my wife and kids left to go visit family in California. They’ll be gone all week until late this coming Friday evening which means I’ve got the house to myself, and no distractions of any kind. A week all to myself to get caught up on things around the house and other projects that got left by the wayside. I guess we’ll see if I manage to make good use of the time alone or not.

Having so much time to myself is both a blessing and a curse. It’s nice to get lots of things done that have been piling up for me, but I often find I don’t have a ton of fun while doing it. Something about having my wife talking to me and my kids running around that makes things more interesting I guess.

I went back to sleep when the family left and woke up at noon. The rest of my Saturday was spent moseying around the house and tidying things up. I also went to the grocery store and got a bunch of things to make for dinner so I don’t go out to eat the entire time. Nothing too exciting I suppose.

Today I’m taking it easy and watching House, M.D. on DVD because it was on sale for $15 at Walmart last night. I’ve always wanted to watch it and now I’m getting the chance I guess. I’m about nine episodes in and it’s as good as I thought it was going to be.

WHAT I’VE WATCHED THIS WEEK

My wife and I ran through all the available episodes of How I Met Your Mother on Netflix in just a few days. I’ve made it all the way to the end of season six, and now I just need to find the recently concluded season seven so I can be caught up for the new season when it starts this fall.

I also watched several movies because things have been hot and cold as far as workload goes for work. The Grey was not at all what I was expecting it to be, and I found myself fairly disappointed by it. I was quite pleased with Man on a Ledge, but Ghost Rider: Spirit of Vengeance was an absolute nightmare. I’m so glad I didn’t go see that one in the theater.

At work we had a department outing and saw Moonrise Kingdom at the local artsy theater and I have to say I still don’t know if I understand what that movie was about. Lastly, but not least, I saw Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter in the theater and I’ll admit to being disappointed. The movie follows the book pretty close up to a certain point near the end and then it sort of takes a wide turn to the left. The exciting twist at the end of the book is completely ignored in the movie and that made me sad. However, the actor who played Lincoln did a very, very good job in my opinion.

All in all, I’m on a bit of a bad run with movies lately, so hopefully I’ll pull out of it soon.

RECENTLY ON 20FOUR12

Atlas Shrugged Chapters 26-27: In Which John Galt Takes to the Radio
Atlas Shrugged Chapter 28: In Which John Galt is Captured by Mr. Thompson
Atlas Shrugged Chapter 29: In Which Mr. Thompson Tries to Manipulate John Galt
Atlas Shrugged Chapter 30: In Which We Reach the End of the Book

Update to the Reading List: China Miéville and Kim Stanley Robinson
National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo) 2012
July Movies I Want to See

Leave a Reply

