Week’s End: Being Busy at Work Doesn’t Mean I Don’t Still Get My Reading and Watching On

It’s the end of the week and I want to start a regular column on Sundays that recaps the week of posts on 20four12 but also recaps the past week in regards to what I’ve been doing outside of the book world. It’s a way to talk about other things I think are fun and interesting without messing with the flow of book-related material during the main part of the week.

I’ve been incredibly busy at work this past week, I’ve even had to pull some extended hours to make sure that all the work got finished on time. Anyone who knows what my job is normally like knows that is definitely not the norm. Hopefully I’ve gotten past the major backlog of work that piled up with the move of the office to downtown and things will get back to some sort of normal soon. It’s definitely been an adjustment being the only front-end developer at the office, but I’ve made it work and done a pretty good job of it if I say so myself.

The other major adjustment has been using public transportation to reach work each day instead of carpooling with Matt. I ride the local light rail (TRAX) and initially thought it would be a hassle but as it turns out it’s actually rather straightforward. I get on my first train at the end of the line a couple of miles north of my apartment and ride it all the way into downtown. Then, I switch to a second train, but only for a couple stops. After that I just have a block and a half of a walk to the office. It takes me about an hour altogether which is longer than the carpool took, but it’s not that bad. I get a ton of reading done.

WHAT I’VE BEEN WATCHING

With the summer upon us all of the television shows I had been watching with my wife have wrapped up for the season until everything starts up again in the fall. As a result this week I’ve been devouring How I Met Your Mother on Instant Netflix in the evenings and between projects at the office. I saw episodes of the show here and there during the first couple of seasons, but not enough to say I had really “watched” it at any time. It’s been a lot of fun to watch and I find myself laughing out loud pretty regularly.

I also saw a few movies this week: Prometheus, Battlefield America, and Snow White and the Huntsman. Oddly enough, no Redbox for me this past week or so with things so busy at the office. I have to say that Prometheus was definitely the best of the bunch, but it is incredibly intense. If you are even the slightest bit squeamish you might want to stay away from that one.

Battlefield America was one my wife really wanted to see and we were the only people in the theater last night. It turned out to be much better than expected despite the cheesy acting my the kid actors and I wound up enjoying it more than I thought I would. On the other hand, Snow White and the Huntsman had its moments but fell sort of flat for me on the whole which was sort of disappointing.

This next week I really want to watch a few episodes of Piper Perabo in Covert Affairs. I bought the first season with a gift card I got for my birthday a few weeks back, but haven’t had the chance to watch it yet.

THE PAST WEEK ON 20FOUR12

50/2012 May Update
Book Review: “Kraken” by China Miéville
Atlas Shrugged Chapter 22: In Which Life is Bliss Inside Galt’s Gorge
Atlas Shrugged Chapter 23: In Which Project X is Revealed
Book Review: “Alcatraz Versus the Evil Librarians” by Brandon Sanderson
Up Next: “Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter” by Seth Grahame-Smith
Book Review: “Redshirts: A Novel with Three Codas” by John Scalzi

Leave a Reply

