Great Movies Few People Have Seen

I’ll watch just about anything if I think it might be entertaining and it doesn’t matter what the critics say. Over the years I’ve seen quite a few that were pretty bad, but I’ve also seen my share of movies nobody really went to see that turned out to be pretty good in their own right. I thought I’d share a couple with you today.

FINDING FORRESTER – 2000
There was a time in life when I really wanted to be a writer. Well, it would still be pretty cool if it happened someday, but that dream is on the back burner for a little bit. Finding Forrester was one of those movies I’d never heard about but saw on the shelf at Blockbuster (remember those) one day. I’ve watched it at least a hundred times and love it just as much as I did the first time. It’s one of the few deep-thinking movies I enjoy.

 

AMERICAN OUTLAWS – 2001
Witty, comedic westerns are something you don’t see every day and this one certainly fits the bill. I saw this movie in the theater with my Dad when it first came out and I still think it’s one of the better popcorn westerns I’ve seen and is always good for a light-hearted evening of fun.

 

IRONCLAD – 2011
I was on a medieval action movie kick a month or two back and was watching everything I could find on Instant Netflix. I went through about five or six movies in a couple of days while things were rather slow at the office and Ironclad was easily the best of the bunch. It’s a “seven samurai” type of story and I’ve loved every movie I’ve ever seen based on that concept. Not to mention, Paul Giamatti lets loose with one of the best on-screen rants I’ve ever seen. Warning: this one is brutally violent, so viewer beware.

Leave a Reply

