Game of Thrones S1, Ep1: Winter is Coming

Things are slow at the office today, so after taking care of a few small things this morning I’ve had the chance to watch the first episode of Game of Thrones. There really isn’t any way to describe it other than how everyone else already has: amazing. It wasn’t all that long ago that I finished reading all of the Song of Fire and Ice books by George R.R. Martin, and while doing so I had envisioned what I thought the world he created might look like if I were to actually step foot inside. Well, HBO has done an excellent job because the show looks exactly like I had envisioned things. A little gritty, but refined at the same time. The characters so far that have had major parts (Ned Stark, Jon Snow, Daenerys, Khal Drogo) all seem to have been cast almost perfectly.

And, let’s not forget Peter Dinklage as Tyrion Lannister. Best. Casting. In. History.

So far in the first episode, the show is following quite close to the book. We started with the Night Watch Rangers discovering the White Walkers, and moved through Robert Baratheon arriving in Winterfell to ask Ned Stark to be his new Hand of the King. The episode also touches on the wedding between Khal Drogo and Daenerys Targaryen in small pieces. I’m glad they didn’t dwell on that wedding too much because while reading the books the events that take place after the wedding are far more interesting and important. The episode finishes with Brandon “Bran” Stark discovering the incest between Jaime and Cersei Lannister and subsequently being thrown from the tower. A pretty good place to end the episode and provide and excellent cliffhanger for episode two in my mind.

One thing I always find interesting in watching television shows or movies that are based off of books is how the dialogue changes between characters in small ways because things work differently on screen than they do in print. From this first episode I found a great quote by Eddard “Ned” Stark that I just had to write down:

“I don’t fight in tournaments because when I fight a man for real, I don’t want him to know what I can do.”

– Ned Stark to Jaime Lannister

Come on! How amazingly badass is that? Made even more badass by knowledge of his ultimate fate in the series. I can’t wait to see what other gems of dialogue they give to Ned in future episodes. I’m going to make a point of writing down all the great quotes I find as I come across them.

On to the next episode!

One thought on “Game of Thrones S1, Ep1: Winter is Coming

  1. Hi there! Someone in my Facebook group shared this website with us so I came to give it a look. I’m definitely enjoying the information. I’m book-marking and will be tweeting this to my followers! Terrific blog and superb style and design.

Leave a Reply

