Sunday Sitdown: Now I Can Watch Game of Thrones Like Everyone Else

I’ve read all of the Song of Fire and Ice books, more commonly known in pop culture these days as the Game of Thrones and when I heard they were making a television show based off of the first book I was pretty excited to see what came of it. Then, of course, the show was aired on HBO which meant two things. First, it was going to be awesome because every other show I’ve ever seen on HBO is awesome. Second, I wasn’t going to see it as the show aired because at the time I didn’t have HBO as one of the channels on my cable package.

How incredibly unfortunate.

Well, after moving to Riverton a while back we are forced to have a satellite television package because our apartments are on the edge of town, so now HBO comes as part of my standard issue stuff. That means when Game of Thrones Season 2 starts in a few weeks I can watch it in real-time. Thank heavens.

But, I need to get caught up before I can do that for obvious reasons. This afternoon I noticed on iTunes that the first season of Game of Thrones was available for less than $30, an absolutely great price. Guess what I’ll be doing this week at the office when I don’t have any work to do?

In other news, my mage character on World of Warcraft made it all the way to level 64 this week. I’m pretty proud of that and am hoping to get him all the way to maximum level by the end of the month. That might be a tall order though, so we’ll see what happens. I’ve enjoyed playing the mage, it’s a lot different from my usual fare in-game. I started out trying out the Fire talent tree, but that didn’t mesh very well for me so I gave the Frost tree a try for a bit. I liked that well enough, but when I got to level 60 I figured I would give the Arcane tree a try for a bit just to make sure I had tried all the options. I think Sorollos will be sticking around as an Arcane mage for the forseeable future. It’s a lot of fun.

This coming week I’m hoping to make a lot of progress on Atlas Shrugged. I’d like to get past the 30% complete mark if I can, but I have to remember to keep some notes as I go for the posts I need to write. Sometimes I forget that type of thing and then feel bad that I can’t remember all the details. I also need to find a “side book” for reading here and there so I don’t burn out with such a big novel while reading Atlas Shrugged. I’m thinking I might try my hand at either Partials by Dan Wells, or Matched by Aly Condie.

We’ll see which way I wind up going.

 

Leave a Reply

